Infirmary now little used
ONE of the most attractive buildings in the east end of Helensburgh is the Victoria Infirmary, built in 1895.
The work of one of the town’s leading architects, William Leiper, the former cottage hospital looks in fine condition from the outside, but inside only the ground floor is in use as part of today’s Victoria Integrated Health Care Centre.


HELENSBURGH is full of attractive mansions designed by leading Scottish architects — but the one which attracts thousands of visitors from all over the world is Charles Rennie Mackintosh’s iconic The Hill House.

HELENSBURGH seafront was at the peak of its popularity in the 1920s and 30s.
LIKE many other places, Helensburgh and district went through an era when it was surrounded by toll houses, and there was a price to pay for travel.

A POPULAR spot in Helensburgh for walkers is the Duchess Wood Local Nature Reserve.
TRAFFIC roars past the Faslane Peace Camp, with few people in the vehicles realising that a gem of a mansion is hidden by the trees. But there is considerable doubt over its future.
A DAMAGED glacial boulder from 10,000 years ago catches the eye of walkers on the popular Upland Walkway footpath near its junction with the Highlandman’s Road on the hillside above Helensburgh and Rhu.